New distance record

In case you couldn’t tell from my title, I got a new running distance record!!

Up until this morning, the longest distance I have consecutively run (not including on the treadmill) without stopping has been the 5K distance of 3.10 miles. Today, I got a burst of motivation at the end of my usual 3 mile run, and ran 4 whole miles!

IMG_2948

Note the “I felt unstoppable” smiley guy in the left corner :). It felt awesome to get a new record, and to know that I am capable of running further than I ever could before. It also didn’t hurt that it was the perfect running weather today, 64 degrees with no clouds in the sky.

Not only did I get a new record, but I also crossed off another new running destination from my summer goal of running in a ton of different places.

IMG_2940

When my alarm went off at 8:00 this morning, running is the absolute last thing I wanted to do. But, I got up ate half of a power bar, stretched a little and went out the door! I’m so glad I forced my self to get out there, because it was one of those runs that solidifies why I love running.

I decided to drive a few minutes down the road from my neighborhood and run around a pretty lake. Besides the insane amount of goose poo I had to dodge, it was a perfect running location! I ran around the lake three times, then in the neighborhood right by it, under a tunnel, and around the lake once more to reach 4 miles. I will definitely be running here again soon, I loved the pretty scenery I got to look out throughout my run.

IMG_2936

IMG_2931

IMG_2937

After my run I drove back home and forced myself to stretch, since I knew my legs would thank me for it later.

IMG_2941

Breakfast:

By the time I was done stretching I was starved, and my stomach was roaring so I dug into the breakfast cookie I made last night. I followed The Fitnessista’s recipe exactly, besides adding some cinnamon and blueberries this morning. It hit the spot.

I clearly couldn't wait two extra seconds to snap this photo without eating a bite.

I clearly couldn’t wait two extra seconds to snap this photo before taking a bite.

Another reason my morning was completely amazing? My sister Katie works for the Washington Capitals, and sometimes gets free/discounted prices off of concert tickets at shows that come to the Verizon Center, since that is where the Caps play. Well today she called me to tell me she officially bought our tickets to the Beyonce Mrs. Carter concert at the end of July!!! See you in about a month Queen Bey!

COLUMBIA RECORDS BEYONCE TOUR

Oh, and the amazing morning didn’t stop there. She then called me back a few minutes later to tell me she got free tickets to the NKOTB/98 Degrees/Boys 2 men concert next week, and asked if I was interested in going. Um, duh.

Looks like I’m going to have a summer full of concerts, don’t mind if I do!

8 thoughts on “New distance record

  1. Pingback: Frustrating Run | Miles of Molly

  2. Pingback: Queen Bey | Miles of Molly

Leave a Reply

