Rainy Baking Day

Remember my running fail from this morning?

Yeah me too.

But, guess what? I have redeemed myself, Stormy Day: 1, Molly:1. We are now even ladies and gentlemen.

I officially ran 5 miles! Well…. Sort of. I ran 2 miles this morning before the heavens so rudely decided to open up on me, and then I waited about an hour and ran 3 more miles. 2 + 3 = 5, right? We can just pretend I ran all those miles consecutively ;).

I almost didn’t run the extra 3, I was feeling sleepy and just kept using excuses like: It’s just going to start raining again, my breakfast hasn’t digested yet, I’m super tired since I woke up at 7:30.

But, when I actually went to lay down and take a nap I felt guilty and knew my body wasn’t going to let me sleep (stupid brain). So I laced up my running shoes. I went out to run 2 miles, and while I was running I got the wonderful and bright idea to run 3 miles to make it equal what I originally wanted to run this morning.

Running Success :).

I can’t wait until I actually accomplish my 5 miles goal, but until then this was a good alternative.

Baking

When I got back from my run I took a quick shower, and then realized I was in the baking mood. maybe it was the rain? Who knows, but I was reallllly wanting to make some treats. I searched Pinterest and a few blogs before deciding to make a Banana Bread Loaf and some Nutella/Peanut Butter Oat Clusters. Oh. My.Yum.

Peanut Butter Nutella Oat Clusters

  • 1 cup of old fashioned oats
  • 1 tablespoon Honey
  • 1 tablespoon Peanut Butter (I used natural)
  • 1 tablespoon of Nutella
  • 1/2 cup of raisins
  • 1/2 cup of broken up walnuts
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate chips

It’s so simple and only takes a couple of minutes! All you have to do is mix the Honey, Peanut Butter, and Nutella in a bowl and microwave about 40 seconds. Then add in the oats, walnuts and raisins. Put it in the oven for 15 minutes at 400 degrees at the chocolate chips on top and Voila!

Banana Walnut Bread

I used Peanut Butter Fingers exact recipe, I just added walnuts, and made one big loaf as opposed to two smaller ones. Oh my gosh it was so unbelievably delicious, and the walnuts added the perfect touch. I would definitely recommend this recipe.

Both of these treats fulfilled my urge to bake and were the perfect rainy day comfort foods. I ended up eating both of them all afternoon, so they = my lunch for the day.

After lounging all day I went to Costco with my Mom and Amy, and this ended up being my dinner:

Just try and tell me that doesn’t make your mouth water. I obviously couldn’t resist this masterpiece and ate a few slices, everything in moderation, my friends.

For Dessert I had fruit salad for like the 5th time this week. When I fall in love with a certain food I really fall in love, and I have fallen hard for some juicy cold fruit salad this Summer. No Shame.

After Dessert Amy and I battled the kitchen pantry and took it from this:

To this:

I know, I know, we basically rock.

Now I’m off to pass out because I have had a looooong day. Good night, I’ll catch up with you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Rainy Baking Day

  1. Pingback: Untitled Blog Post Name | Miles of Molly

  2. Pingback: Tanning and Target | Miles of Molly

Leave a Reply

